Those Who Are Ready Will Enter

In Matthew 25:1-13 the Lord Jesus speaks about virgins going forth to meet a bridegroom. In the whole universe He is the real Bridegroom and all His believers are individually virgins and corporately His bride, New Jerusalem.

Our going forth is our cooperation with God’s preparation of New Jerusalem as the bride (Revelation 21:2). Matthew 25:10 says, “those who were ready went in with him to the wedding feast.” The virgins who were ready “took oil in their vessels with their lamps” so that their lamps were shining with a good supply of oil rather than “going out” (v. 8).

New JerusalemOil is a symbol of the Holy Spirit. Matthew 25:9 indicates that a price must be paid to be filled with the Spirit. In Matthew 16:24-25 the Lord said that to follow Him we must deny ourselves, take up our cross, and lose our soul life. This is the price to gain extra oil in our vessels so that we shine brightly.

We can pray, Lord, I desire to follow You. Grace me to deny myself.

An example of paying a price is in Philippians 3:7-8. Paul tells us, “What things were gains to me, these I have counted as loss on account of Christ. But moreover I also count all things to be loss on account of the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, on account of whom I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as refuse that I may gain Christ.”

We can pray, Lord, I want to be ready to go in. Manifest Your excellency to me and show me what I need to count loss so that I may gain more of You today. Lord, I want to get ready for You and for New Jerusalem.

Related post: We Have Oil in our Vessels, We are Burning

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Edgar Hovhannisyan

     /  March 4, 2015

    Lord, I desire to follow You. Grace me to deny myself! Lord, I want to be ready to go in. Manifest Your excellency to me and show me what I need to count loss so that I may gain more of You today. Lord, I want to get ready for You and for New Jerusalem!

    Like

    Reply
    • Yes Lord, show us Your excellence so that we can deny ourselves and count all things as loss.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Marc

     /  March 5, 2015

    A timely message as many increase their praying, fasting, and alms giving during Great Lent. In the early Church Great Lent was considered a preparation for the Parousia. The wise virgins of Matthew 25:1-13 are likely the same virgins of Revelation 14:1-4 who constitute the first fruit of the resurrection harvest of the Day of the Lord.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Marc

     /  March 7, 2015

    Don, The Eastern Orthodox Church uses the term Great Lent while the Roman Catholic and Western liturgical churches use the term Lent for the forty day period of preparation prior to Easter. This practice was limited in duration and scope prior to the Edict of Milan, but become more structured after the first Ecumenical Council in AD. 325.

    Like

    Reply
  1. Come Forward to Get Ready | New Jerusalem - the Consummation
  2. New Jerusalem is Prepared as a Bride | New Jerusalem - the Consummation

Leave a Reply

