The Name of God and the Lamb

God and the Lamb in New JerusalemJohn says about New Jerusalem, “the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and His slaves will serve Him; and they will see His face, and His name will be on their foreheads” (Revelation 22:3-4). “His name” refers to the name of God and of the Lamb. This is the same as Matthew 28:19, “the name [singular] of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,” both verses showing the Triune God as three in person but one in essence (one name).

In Revelation 22:4 His name is on us and in verse 3 we are His slaves and beholding His face. His name written on us proclaims that we belong to Him and that we are one with Him. To belong to the Triune God reflects our status as slaves and to be one with the Triune God reflects our beholding His face, living in fellowship with Him.

It seems that His name is on our foreheads because that is a prominent location. It is the same location where the Israelites are sealed (Revelation 7:3-4), where the followers of the beast are marked (13:16-17), and where the overcomers on Mount Zion have God’s name  (14:1). May the name of God and of the Lamb be prominent upon us!

In Revelation 3:12, the Lord tells us that He will write on the overcomers the name of God, the name of New Jerusalem, and His name. This shows us that His writing on us is not limited to eternity but is something He wants to accomplish now. We can pray,

Lord, thank You for dying to purchase me for God. I am Yours. Make me fully one with You and the Father in my daily living. Write Your name more on me and write it more prominently on me. May I realize more that I belong to You and may everyone who meets me see that I belong to You.

Related Posts:
The Triune God in Revelation 22
We See the Face of God and the Lamb

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Amen! Lord, I belong to You! I have Your name on my forehead! Make me fully One with You! May others see You in me and even on me!

    Like

    Reply
  1. The Triune God is Our Blessing in Revelation 22:3-5 | New Jerusalem – A Biblical View

Leave a Reply

