Jesus Said, I am Coming (2)

A prior post spoke about the secret and open aspects of the Lord’s second coming. Besides His coming to end this age, He has already come to us in resurrection. John 14:2-3 says, “I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I am coming again and will receive you to Myself, so that where I am you also may be.” The prepared place is for the mutual abiding of the Triune God and the believers. John 14:19-23 continue,

mutual abiding in resurrection“Yet a little while and the world beholds Me no longer, but you behold Me; because I live, you also shall live. 20In that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you. 21He who has My commandments and keeps them, he is the one who loves Me; and he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and will manifest Myself to him. 22Judas, not Iscariot, said to Him, Lord, and what has happened that You are to manifest Yourself to us and not to the world? 23Jesus answered and said to him, If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word, and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make an abode with him.”

In John 14 the Lord’s coming is in resurrection, as described in John 20. This is a secret coming to bring us to Himself (v. 3) that He may abide in us with the Father (v. 20, 23). In this coming He manifests Himself to His lovers (v. 21) but not to the world (v. 19, 22). This coming, this manifesting, begins the mutual dwelling of the Triune God in us and us in the Triune God. The consummation of this mutual indwelling is New Jerusalem.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

