Mutual Abiding from Resurrection to New Jerusalem

We abide in God and God abides in usJohn speaks about our mutual abiding: the Triune God dwelling in the believers and the believers dwelling in the Triune God (14:2, 23; 15:4-10; 17:21, 23). This mutual abiding begins from the resurrection of Jesus Christ. In John 14:2 the Lord said, “In My Father’s house are many abodes (or dwelling places). Every believer is a dwelling place for the Triune God. The Lord continued, “I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I am coming again and will receive you to Myself, so that where I am you also may be” (v. 2-3).

The Lord’s “going” is to the cross to die, in order to remove the barriers between man and God, such as sin, sins, the flesh, and death. His “coming” is in resurrection to dwell in us. Redemption through His death opens the door for life imparting through His resurrection (more in these posts:   ).

His coming is to “receive you to Myself, so that where I am you also may be.” In John 14 to 17 He never speaks about being in heaven but He often speaks about the Father. “I am in the Father and the Father is in Me” (14:10, 11), “I am going to the Father” (14:12, 28; 16:10, 17, 28), “You, Father, are in Me and I in You” (17:21). His receiving us to Himself in resurrection is to bring us into the Father, which is “where I am” (14:3). His “bringing” is fulfilled in resurrection, as stated in 14:19-20, “because I live, you also shall live. In that day you will know that I am in My Father, and you in Me, and I in you.” We live because He lives in us (Galatians 2:20), and we are in the Father because we are in Him and He is in the Father. The culmination of this is the eternal mutual abiding in New Jerusalem.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Hi. I came across your weblog the utilization of msn.

    It is actually a very well written article. I am going to be certain to save it and go back to learn extra of the useful information.
    Thanks for your post. I’ll surely get back.

    Like

    Reply
  1. The New Jerusalem is the Consummation of the Building up of the Body in the Local Churches
  2. I am in My Father, You in Me, and I in You | New Jerusalem - the Consummation
  3. New Jerusalem is the Consummation of All the New Testament Blessings | New Jerusalem - the Consummation

Leave a Reply

